Fresh Ink

Cal Sutphin Receives NAPIM's Ault Award


Editor’s Note: The full review of the NAPIM Convention will appear in the June issue of Ink World.

The National Association  of Printing Ink Manufacturers presented the Ault Award, the industry’s most prestigious honor, to Cal Sutphin, president of Braden Sutphin Ink Company and longtime industry leader, during its annual convention, which was held April 14-17 in Tucson, AZ.     The Ault Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry, and Mr. Sutphin certainly fits that description. Mr. Sutphin served as president of NAPIM from 1995-97, and has been a leader in the industry for 47 years.
“This is really a shock,” Mr. Sutphin said. “I didn’t expect it.”
Mr. Sutphin joins his brother, Jimmy Sutphin, who received the award in 1997, as Ault Award winners.
In addition, NAPIM presented Printing Ink Pioneer Awards to Henri Dyner, former president and CEO of Sun Chemical; John Jewelinski, senior account representative at A.J. Daw Printing Ink; Leonard Shaffer, director of global technology at Flint Ink; Leonard A. Walle, director of new business development at Flint Ink; and Joseph DiChiarro, vice president of operations at INX International.