CPMA Elects Board Members


Membership gathers for annual meeting at The Greenbrier in West Virginia

The Color Pigments Manufacturers Association (CPMA) met at The Greenbrier resort in White Sulphur Springs, WV June 23-26 for its annual business meeting and to elect its board members.

Joel Weissglass (Magruder Color), Rucker Wickline (CDR Pigments and Dispersions), Andy Zamoyski (Clariant), Walter Sichel (Max Marx), Ron Levi (Bruchsaler Farbenfabrik) and Brian Shapiro (Aceto) were elected to serve on CPMA’s board of governors. In addition, Larry Robinson was re-elected CPMA president.

This year’s annual business meeting was chaired by CPMA chairman Tom Rogers (Apollo Colors). Topics provided attendees with an update on CPMA’s activities concerning regulations in North America, international issues and challenges facing manufacturers. Harold F. Fitzpatrick, CPMA’s general counsel, presented a look at the internationalization of competitive relationships under U.S. antitrust law and what it means to color pigment manufacturers in North America.

Extensive Education Program

In addition, CPMA scheduled an education program that covered many issues currently on the minds of pigment suppliers as well as the coatings and ink industries they serve. The education program covered currency changes, antidumping laws, economic issues and capital formation.

William Strahan, chief of the U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing Product Development Center, spoke about the bureau’s recent announcement to add new colors to U.S. paper currency. Martha Moore, a senior economist for the American Chemistry Council, analyzed North American and global issues and the economy from the perspective of the chemical industry.

Plant security was addressed by Angela DeConti, manager of government relations at the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturers Association (SOCMA). Don Wainwright, chairman of the National Association of Manufacturers and CEO of Wainwright Industries, shared his views on capital formation, productivity, homeland security and leadership in turbulent times. John Dickson, CEO, National Ford Chemical Co., addressed the use and effectiveness of the U.S./ European antidumping laws.

On Course and On Court

The CPMA annual meeting would not be complete withoutits sporting activities. Mike Klein (Dominion Colour) won the Ray Cassidy memorial golf trophy for low net and Bob Houston (Magruder Color) won the John A. Howard trophy for low gross in the golf tournament. The men’s tennis tournament was won by Hironori Sakai (Toyo Color America) and the women’s tennis tournament was won by Yoko Ishizaka.