Breaking News

Jürgen Hambrecht Eelected as New Chairman of the Supervisory Board of BASF SE


In its constitutive meeting, the new Supervisory Board of BASF has elected Dr. Jürgen Hambrecht as its new chairman. Hambrecht succeeds Dr. h.c. Eggert Voscherau, who took over as chairman following the Annual ShareholderMeeting 2009 and who was no longer available for re-election by the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting. As vice chairmen, the Supervisory Board elected Michael Diekmann and Robert Oswald, both of whom had previously held this function.

The Annual Shareholders’ Meeting of BASF SE elected the following shareholder representatives as members of the Supervisory Board:
• Dame Alison Carnwath DBE, London
• Professor Dr. François Diederich, Zurich
• Michael Diekmann, Munich
• Franz Fehrenbach, Stuttgart
• Dr. Jürgen Hambrecht, Neustadt/Weinstraße
• Anke Schäferkordt, Cologne
Besides Voscherau, Max Dietrich Kley, who has served on the Supervisory Board since 2003, also did not stand for re-election.

The BASF Europa Betriebsrat (European works council) previously appointed the following employee representatives to the Supervisory Board of BASF SE:
• Robert Oswald, Altrip
• Wolfgang Daniel, Heidelberg
• Ralf-Gerd Bastian, Neuhofen
• Michael Vassiliadis, Hanover
• Francesco Grioli, Ronneberg
• Denise Schellemans, Brecht/Belgium
The appointments of the Supervisory Board members are valid until the end of the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting 2019.

In its constitutive meeting, the Supervisory Board also newly appointed its committees. All shareholder representatives are members of the Nomination Committee, which is chaired by Hambrecht. The Personnel Committee comprises Diekmann, Oswald, Vassiliadis and is chaired by Hambrecht. The Audit Committee comprises Fehrenbach, Bastian, Vassiliadis and has Carnwath as its chair and financial expert