Breaking News

Change in the Supervisory Board of ALTANA AG


Dr. Klaus-Jurgen Schmieder takes over chairmanship

The new Supervisory Board of ALTANA AG has constituted itself subsequent to the Annual General Meeting, with Dr. Klaus-Jürgen Schmieder being elected as its new chairman.

Dr. Schmieder, a former Management Board member of L’Air Liquide S.A., had previously served as chair of ALTANA AG's Audit Committee and has been a member of the company's Supervisory Board since 2001. ALTANA Group has four divisions: BYK Additives & Instruments, ECKART Effect Pigments, ELANTAS Electrical Insulation, and ACTEGA Coatings & Sealants.

Dr. Monika Engel-Bader, president of Chemetall until 2011, Dr. Lothar Steinebach, a member of the Management Board of Henkel until the end of June 2012, and Dr. Antonio Trius, CEO of Cognis until 2010, were newly elected to the Supervisory Board. Ulrich Gajewiak and Susanne Klatten remain deputy chairpersons of the Supervisory Board. Dr. Lothar Steinebach was elected as new chairman of the Audit Committee.

Dr. Fritz Fröhlich, the previous chairman of the Supervisory Board, as well as Dr. Helmut Eschwey and Dr. Carl Voigt retired from the Supervisory Board upon the expiry of their term of office. The Supervisory Board and the Management Board would like to extend their sincere gratitude to the leaving members of the Supervisory Board for their successful work and excellent support and dedication over the past years, in particular during the realignment of the ALTANA Group into a pure specialty chemicals company.

"With the new members of ALTANA AG's Supervisory Board, we have again attracted outstanding personalities, both on a professional and personal level," said Dr. Matthias L. Wolfgruber, CEO of ALTANA AG. "In its new composition, too, the Supervisory Board will constructively accompany and support ALTANA's growth- and value-oriented course."